The Committee on Diversity, Inclusion and Equity (CODIE) is currently seeking  volunteer members. All APS members in good standing are eligible to serve. If you are interested in being considered for an opening, please apply by September 16. The following items are required:

  • One-page statement of interest to include:
    • Why you would like to serve on the committee.
    • How your background and/or institutional DEI experience could serve the committee.
  • DEI Statement
  • CV (please highlight areas of experience that are relevant to the work of CODIE)

Established: February 2012


  • The Committee priorities are the creation of the membership database and planning for a plenary symposium or workshop for the PAS Meeting. The Committee Chair submits a written or oral update to APS Council at the Spring meeting and additional updates as needed.


  • To promote diversity, inclusion and equity within APS.
  • To promote diversity, inclusion and equity in academic pediatrics.

Functions & Responsibilities:

  • Creation of membership database.
  • Planning for a plenary symposium or workshop at the PAS Meeting.


  • Call to members to serve.
  • Committee members must be APS members.
  • Members are reviewed and selected by committee members.
  • Council Liaison to serve during their tenure as a Councilor.
  • APS President and Secretary/Treasurer are ex officio committee members during their tenure in these roles.

Co-Chair Terms/Limits:

  • Co-chair terms are staggered.
  • Chairs appointed by Council, upon APS President and Secretary/Treasurer’s recommendation.
  • Chairs serve a 3-year term.
  • Chairs can serve a maximum of 1 consecutive term.

Member Terms/Limits:

  • Members serve a 3-year term.
  • Members can serve a maximum of 1 consecutive term.


  • Duration of meeting is up to one hour.
  • Meetings are held every 1-2 months.
  • Quorum is not necessary.

Current Committee:

Joseph L. Wright, MD, MPH (Term: Co-Chair 2020-2023)
Tamera Coyne-Beasley, MD, MPH (Term: Member 2017–2020, 2020–2021, Co-Chair 2021-2024)

Clifford Bogue, MD (Term: 2019–2024) ex officio
Lisa Robinson, MD (Term 2022-2023) ex officio

Gary Freed, MD, MPH (Term: 2017–2020, 2020–2023)
Karen Hendricks-Munoz, MD, MPH (Term: 2018–2021, 2021-2024)
James Jarvis, MD (Term: 2017–2020, 2020–2023)
Yvonne Maldonado, MD (Term: 2019–2022, 2022-2025)
Jean Raphael, MD, MPH (Term: 2019–2022, 2022-2025)
David Schnadower, MD, MPH (Term: 2021-2024)
Brian Sims, MD, PhD (Term: 2021-2024)
TBD (Term: 2022-2025)
TBD (Term: 2022-2025)