The American Pediatric Society Announces 2022 Election Results

HOUSTON, March 7, 2022 – The American Pediatric Society (APS) is pleased to announce the 2022 election results and wishes to thank all the members who participated and ran in this year’s election.  Your engagement and commitment to serve and vote are valuable to the continued success of the Society.

Michael R. DeBaun, MD, MS, MPH – 2022-2023 President-elect

Michael R. DeBaun, MD, MS, MPH, is a Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, Vice-chair of Clinical Research and Translational Research, JC Peterson Endowed Chair in Pediatrics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, and the founding Director of the Vanderbilt-Meharry Center of Excellence in Sickle Cell Disease. An APS member since 2008, Dr. DeBaun was elected as a Councilor to the APS Council in 2018. As President-elect, Dr. DeBaun’s vision is to build on APS’s formal mission by expanding APS membership within the APS guidelines, establish a quarterly virtual APS State of Child Health Art Symposia for one year, and commit to co-facilitating a pilot monthly open access APS President Book Club to enhance dialogue and build a sense of community among those seeking to promote child health. Dr. DeBaun’s primary objective is to enhance the pediatric community’s contributions to improving child health.

Jean L. Raphael, MD, MPH – 2022-2027 Council Member

Jean L. Raphael, MD, MPH, is a Professor of Pediatrics, Division Chief for Academic General Pediatrics, Director of Center for Child Health Policy and Advocacy, and Vice-chair for Clinical Affairs at Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Raphael has been an APS member since 2018 and soon after started his first term as a member of the Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity (CODIE). As a Councilor, Dr. Raphael will concentrate his efforts towards advocacy to advance child health and pediatric research, member career advancement, and expansion of mentorship and sponsorship for those underrepresented in medicine.

Laura Richardson, MD, MPH – 2022-2027 Council Member

Laura Richardson, MD, MPH, is a Professor of Pediatrics and Chief of the Division of Adolescent Medicine at the University of Washington School of Medicine and Seattle Children’s Hospital. An APS member since 2015, Dr. Richardson played an active role in the APS/SPR Mentoring Task Force initiative. Dr. Richardson intends to contribute to Council with her expertise in leadership training and mentoring supports focused on continuing to support the development of innovative strategies to increase diversity and retention in the field. She is also interested in participating in advocacy efforts related to health equity, behavioral health, research, and improving health outcomes for all youth.


About the American Pediatric Society

The American Pediatric Society (APS) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1888 as the first pediatric society in North America. The mission of the APS is to shape the future of academic pediatrics through engagement of distinguished child health leaders to represent the full diversity within the field. The 1,800 plus members of APS are recognized leaders of extraordinary achievement who work together to shape the future of academic pediatrics. For more information, please visit, and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Media Contact:
Lisa Thompson
Association Director
American Pediatric Society